I Haven't Hit My ACoS Target in Prestozon Yet!
If you're interested in using Prestozon's Automation to achieve your ACoS goals, read these documents first.
There are so many factors that go into whether or not a campaign can run at a specific ACoS. These include:
- The competitiveness of a market
- Your ad's conversion rate
- Your average order value
You can calculate your expected ACoS with this formula:
ACoS = ( (1 / conversion rate) * CPC ) / average order value
1 / conversion rate * CPC gets you the spend per sale and dividing by the average order value gets you your ACoS.
For example, if you're selling a $20 item and people tend to buy one of them when they order (so you have a $20 average order value), your average CPC is $0.30 and your average conversion rate is 5%, you will have an ACoS of 30%. If your conversion rate is 3%, your ACoS goes to 50%!! You can use this formula to get an idea of what's possible. It's a good starting place for setting your ACoS target (link). (And if you really want to nerd out, here's a monte carlo simulation calculator (link) for your expected ACoS, CPC, and conversion rate!)
It can take even the most experienced consultants weeks or months to get a campaign to achieve desired performance. If you have your account structured well, this can reduce the time. If there's no method to which campaigns have what keywords and which ad groups advertise what ads then it's going to take a while longer. Consider revamping your account structure before optimizing bids.
21 May 2019
Why Is Search Term Optimization Critical for Ad Optimization in Prestozon?
You can use Prestozon for any Amazon advertising strategy. That said, Prestozon's theory behind our recommended structure has started transforming the Amazon advertising world and is worth understanding. It’s called Search Term Isolation, and it solves this problem: brands often bid against themselves by overlapping keywords. This muddies the waters and makes it hard to manage your bid properly in order to maximize your account efficiency.
Prestozon starts with search term level data and builds up all additional data points from the search term level. This approach ensures you have the necessary granularity, data structure and tools to control your search term exposure with a single bid. Within the platform you can optimize towards a 1:1 relationship between a search term + exact match keyword so it’s easier to manage, gives you more control and provides the optimal structure for our bid management and bid automation capabilities to excel.
Here's a visual of how Search Term Isolation works from a keyword management and movement perspective:
2 December 2019
How Does the Prestozon Bid Suggestions Algorithm Work?
Check out this blog post for an explanation of our bid suggestions algorithm.
We're always updating the algorithm to make sure it works in as many situations as possible. If you're curious whether or not you should use Automation, read about lots of scenarios here:
21 May 2019
What is Dynamic Bidding?
Does Prestozon Provide Managed PPC Services?
If you're looking for some direction on how to get started on Prestozon or how to achieve your Amazon advertising goals we're happy to help you or refer you to one of our partners in the Prestozon Agency Partner Network.
Whether you need help on your Amazon PPC campaigns, Amazon DSP, a turnkey solution for outsourcing your entire Amazon business or you want to explore selling your Amazon business we have partners that can support your needs! Please provide the details requested here in our Agency Partner Referral form and we'll follow up to assist with intros to qualified and vetted partners that match your specific needs.
Prestozon Support --> To help you manage your account yourself
If you'd like help from our team, whether it's technical questions, best practices or ad strategy feel free to email Support@Prestozon.com (please include your Amazon account number, Amazon marketplace and login email address). Additional support we can provide:
- Prestozon Support for $10k+/month ad spend accounts
- Account Review + Audit - email our team at support, share the details below and give us a week to provide some recommendations (this is recommended ahead of an on-boarding call). Please include the following:
- Amazon Ad Account Number:
- Login Email:
- Goals + Challenges with your Amazon PPC Campaigns
Prestozon Agency Partner Network --> to help you identify partners to outsource your PPC management, Amazon DSP or your entire Amazon Business
We're happy to recommend a Prestozon Agency Partner to fit your needs. We partner with top notch agencies and consultants who are Prestozon experts and know how to extract the most performance out of their client's campaigns.
If you're looking for help with your Amazon advertising and want to explore managed PPC services we're here to help connect you to our Prestozon Agency Partner Network of experts. Whether you need help on your Amazon PPC campaigns, Amazon DSP, a turnkey solution for outsourcing your entire Amazon business or you want to explore selling your Amazon business we have partners that can support your needs! Please provide the details requested here in our Agency Partner Referral form and we'll follow up to assist with intros.
13 October 2020
Does Prestozon Have Product Attribute Targeting Support for Analytics, Bid Optimization and Rules?
To learn more about PAT:
9 May 2019
How Do I Optimize Auto Campaigns with Prestozon?
You have a few levers when working with auto campaigns
- Negative keywords - This is the most powerful tool for auto campaigns. Use Prestozon's Negative Keyword Wizard to let us do the work for you, or use the Search Term Explorer to find search terms that are costing you money.
- Set the date range to the last 90 days
- Set the campaign filter to the auto campaign you want to work on
- Set filters in the table for "Spend > $10" or "Clicks > 20" (or whatever thresholds you want) and "Sales = 0"
- Click the "Neg" button or the lightning bolt button to make these search terms negative
- Default bid - Each ad group has a default bid. If you're not getting a lot of exposure, try increasing the bid. If you're above your target ACoS, try decreasing the bid.
- Budget - If you've optimized your negatives and bids, move your budget up and down depending on your performance.
- Move a bit at a time. Sometimes performance changes with broader exposure. A campaign that had a 30% ACOS with a $20 budget might have a 50% ACOS with a $60 budget.
- ASINs - Unfortunately you can't do much about exposure to ASIN detail pages. Amazon doesn't let you negative them, but you can try negating the brand name of the ASIN.
If you're following our recommendations of starting an exact keyword in a manual campaign for each search term that gets a sale and making that keyword negative in the auto campaign, you should expect your auto campaign's performance to decrease over time. It's important to keep an eye on performance and decrease the bid and budget as performance decreases.
21 May 2019
1-Click Campaign Setup in Prestozon
All Prestozon users should be familiar with the 1-Click Campaign Setup. This is the only way to create a campaign within Prestozon and it is designed to create the ideal campaign structure to enable the Search Term Isolation strategy and provides the optimal structure for our bid management and bid automation capabilities to excel.
9 May 2019
Why Do I See ASINs (9 digit alphanumeric strings) in My Prestozon Search Term Explorer?
If you're running auto campaigns, Amazon will show you on product detail pages it thinks are relevant to your customers in the "Sponsored products related to this item" section. This is the only way to get these placements.
Unfortunately, Amazon does not allow advertisers to create negative keywords for ASINs. Sometimes you can make a negative keyword for a brand name and that will stop you from showing up on that brand's ASINs.
21 May 2019
How Do I Restructure My Prestozon Account?
In order to restructure your account, we suggest creating new campaigns with the 1-Click Campaign Setup and using your existing campaign keywords as "seeds". The new campaigns will start taking in the new search terms via the rules engine. Once you are seeing the new campaigns performing, you can pause or lower the bid on your old campaigns in order to remove them from your ad strategy. We advise against archiving campaigns or changing the old campaigns in order to allow you to revert to the old strategy at any time.
9 May 2019
Will I Bid Against Myself Using Prestozon?
You won't bid against yourself in one auction. Amazon will only enter the one keyword they think has the best chance of winning into a given auction. That does mean that generally they pick the one with the highest bid, so while you don't compete against yourself in the auction, you compete against yourself to get into the auction.
Amazon bid auctions are second price auctions, meaning that the winner of the auction pays the price of the second place bidder if their ad gets clicked.
21 May 2019
How Do Rules Work in Prestozon?
The Keyword Rules engine is the core of Prestozon’s functionality. Prestozon’s rules engine allows you to develop a comprehensive keyword movement strategy to optimize campaign performance and eliminate manual management of search term harvesting. You can use rules to generate new keywords or new negative keywords based on search term performance across a set of campaigns or ad groups. Once a converting keyword is identified, the rule can be structured to start keywords of any match type in any ad group.
9 May 2019
If I Add a Search Term to a Manual Campaign in Prestozon, Should I Add It as a Negative Keyword to the Related Auto Campaign?
Yes. Once you move a search term to a manual campaign, we highly recommend that you create a negative keyword (NK) for it in the auto campaign. Prestozon supports a one-click instant NK creation for that, right from the Analytics page.
Our rules engine also allows for the easy promotion of search terms to keywords from within Prestozon.
21 May 2019
Should I Make Separate Campaigns in Prestozon for Similar Products?
Every account is different and you should do what you believe is best for your account and your products. However, Prestozon believes that separating out similar products into different ad groups can quickly become unwieldy and impossible to manage.
9 May 2019
What Do I Do When My Keyword Has Zero Impressions in Prestozon?
This can be due to a few things. Here are some of the most common situations and what to do about them.
- Low Bid - If your bid is too low, Amazon won't show your ad. Try increasing your bid
- Another one of your keywords is winning - If you have the same keyword in multiple campaigns, Amazon will chose one of them to enter into the auction for the impression. If one keyword has a higher bid, it's likely going to be the only one ever entered leaving the other keyword with low or 0 impressions. Try pausing other keywords that get exposure for the search terms the problem keyword can fire for and see if you get any impressions. You can also try increasing the bid higher than all of your other keywords.
- Your product isn't relevant - If Amazon doesn't think that keyword is relevant for the product you've selected to advertise, they won't show it. Make sure you're bidding on relevant keywords.
If all of these fail, it's possible Amazon has a problem with this campaign, ad group, ad, or keyword. If it is in fact a problem on their side, they'll admit it and fix the issue.
Should I Automate My Campaigns in Prestozon?
Once your account is structured how you want and you are happy with how Prestozon’s bid and keyword Suggestions are flowing, you can start thinking about automation. Automation is a powerful way to decrease the time you spend managing your Amazon advertising account.
However, automation is not for every account. Take some time to manually approve Prestozon suggestions to ensure that the rules engine is making decisions that you feel are right for your account. When you feel comfortable with the Suggestions that Prestozon and your Rules are making, consider automation. If you enable automation, continue to keep an eye on your account.
Finally, note that you’ll need to make manual changes to account for market fluctuations or seasonality. Such shifts can affect automation’s suggestions, so we suggest monitoring and manually setting bids for accounts directly before and directly after known market events like holidays.
9 May 2019
How Should I Set My ACoS Targets in Prestozon?
Your ACoS targets will decide how our algorithm suggests bid changes. Decide what your goals are for each campaign; some examples are increased efficiency, increased sales, or more impressions. Then define what the ACoS target is for those goals. For efficiency goals, we suggest keeping your ACoS targets conservative, no more than 10% lower than the current ACoS of that campaign.
9 May 2019
How Do Keyword Rules Work in Prestozon?
Here's a blog post about our keyword rules:
Here's a video about creating and editing keyword rules:
10 September 2019
How Does Prestozon Decide to Change My Bids?
Let Prestozon automate the management of your bids through daily monitoring of impressions and sales data to adjust your bids toward your target ACoS. Prestozon’s algorithms look to strike a balance between impressions (visibility to customers) and ACoS based on your ACoS goals.
9 May 2019
1-Click Setup Step-by-Step Process in Prestozon
Launching with Prestozon’s 1 Click Campaign Setup in 10 Easy Steps:
1. Decide which ASINs you are going to advertise (Seller Accounts require SKUs, Vendor Accounts use ASINs). If you’re not sure how to group your products, read more about if you need this campaign.
2. Enter your seed research terms. These are terms you think will help your product sell, but you’re not sure. It’s okay to put “maybe” keywords here.
3. Enter your performance keywords. These are your known winners. Only put keywords in here if you have advertised these products or very similar products before and you know the keywords are winners and have driven sales for you.
4. Set your budgets.
5. Set your ACoS target and default bids. Remember, this is a launch, while you may want to drive ACoS down in the future, at first you want to drive for visibility and impressions. Keep the ACoS target high and make sure your default bid is competitive right from the start. If you find that you’re not getting enough impressions then increase your bid to ensure you’re getting enough impressions to generate clicks (ideally 20-30 clicks minimum).
6. Check out your preview and ensure that the keywords are being created per your preferences.
7. Review your rules. If you want to make a change, there are other rule options under the Advanced Options in the bottom left. If you don’t see the option you want, you can do even more editing once you’ve created the rules.
8) Branded terms are key to driving ACoS in competitive markets. Branded terms often run significantly lower ACoS and higher conversion rate. Prestozon allows you to put your brand terms in separate campaigns under the “Special” tab in the 1CS so you can manage these terms independently.
9) Set your ACoS and budget preferences for Branded campaigns. Your branded campaigns will almost always with a lower ACoS and higher conversion rate so we suggest more aggressive ACoS targets and higher budgets, even at launch. It’s common to see products with 30% ACoS on non-branded terms achieving lower than 5% ACoS on branded terms. Read more about breaking out branded search here.
10) Review your entire new launch structure. Complete with your SP non-branded campaigns and branded campaigns on the rules that govern them.
You’re all set! Now you’ve got a great campaign structure and have Prestozon set up to manage keywords and bids. Getting the most out of a product launch requires some judgement from the human account manager, so check in on your campaigns using Prestozon Analytics to get the last bit of performance out of them.
8 October 2019
Analytics and Optimizing Campaigns Step-by-Step in Prestozon
Optimizing new campaigns, 10 Points of Interest with Prestozon:
Now that the campaigns are created, give it a few days to get some traction and then check your suggestions under the Suggestions tab to see what our algorithm has to say about your account.
1. Our Suggestions will sort by spend by default so the most important decisions are always at the top.
2. We always try to give a reason for our decision making. Account managers are the experts, we want you to be able to make informed decisions.
3. Early in a launch cycle, some managers only approve bid changes that raise your bid!
4. If you want more options like ignoring or snoozing a bid, you can do so by clicking the pink arrow.
5. You can apply bulk actions to quickly apply or ignore multiple suggestions at the same time.
The keywords suggestions will suggest keywords based on your rules. Whenever search term gets a converted sale in an ad group with rules applied, Prestozon will make suggestions based on your rules structure.
6. Prestozon shows all the keywords it wants to create. It automatically searches for duplicates and won’t create those keywords.
Now you can hop into analytics and check out how everything is going. Our search term explorer is a powerful view to see how search terms are doing across campaigns and keywords.
7. Our ideal keyword structure is Search Term Isolated. That means there’s a 1 to 1 relationship between a search term and an Exact Match keyword. This is going to give you complete control over that search term and ensure you aren’t just trading clicks and impressions between two equivalent keywords.
8) If you aren’t search term isolated, you may want to negate search terms in certain locations to maximize your efficiency. Prestozon allows this right on the Search Term Explorer by pressing the “Neg” button.
9) Once you press the “Neg” button, a window pops up to allow complete control of exactly where you want to negate.
10) By unchecking the box, you can keep successful ad groups firing on that search term while negating in ad groups that are hurting your ACoS.
8 October 2019
How Do I Promote ASINs Manually from Auto Campaigns in Prestozon?
With the introduction of Product Targeting, you can now leverage auto campaigns to find good ASINs to target for your advertisements and then shift those ASINs into individual targets in Product Targeting campaigns. Prestozon now allows you to do this process automatically, but the steps are still interesting.
Here are the easy steps:
Go to the keyword explorer and select either a substitute or complement auto target (they'll be green in the explorer):
Click on the keyword text, in this case "Substitutes Auto Targeting". This will bring you to the search terms for that target, it should be all or mostly ASINs. From there, you can sort by "orders" and copy the ASINs with sales.
Take those ASINs and add then as Product Targeting ASIN targets in the Amazon Portal.
Very soon, Prestozon will do this process automatically via rules just like standard search terms. Until then, this is a quick and easy process!
10 August 2020
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